THE ULTIMATE COMFORT FOOD: CREAMY BAKED RICE PUDDING






Tonight I made one of my favourite puddings, baked rice pudding. It was so easy to make, I made it whilst I had the babe strapped on in the carrier!

I based my recipe on the BBC food recipe to allow myself not to measure anything, for time's sake (and because measuring ingredients is so tedious) plus, I tend to like my rice pudding very rice-heavy. I'm just that type of gal!

It turned out so beautifully and the rice had just the right consistency. I think I'll be having some tonight and is it bad to eat it for breakfast too?!

It was so simple to prepare, it will be a constant temptation to make again and again...

As I used only my own approximates, here is a rough recipe and method:
  • 200g short-grain pudding rice
  • 300ml pint single cream
  • 600ml pint full-fat milk
  • 50g golden caster sugar
  • freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • A few knobs of unsalted butter, and some for greasing

Method:
  1. Wash the rice under cold water and place in the ovenproof dish (I skipped this step!) Heat the cream, milk, caster sugar, vanilla extract and a nutmeg in a saucepan over a medium heat until gently simmering.
  2. Dot the butter over the top and place in the oven for 1½ hours, stirring after the first 30 minutes . If the pudding is still runny, put it back in the oven and keep checking it every 10 mins to check if it is ready
  3. The pudding is done when it has thickened up to a creamy consistency, and the rice is soft ( I lthe rice with a wee bit of a bite so I make sure I don't leave it in too long